Michael T. Schulenberg, Attorney at Law
Home About Mike Practice Areas Communities Contact Us
Click here to meet the attorney who personalizes each and every case. Click here to read what happy clients have to say. Click here to fill out our free case evaluation to get in touch with us today.
Click here to read our firm's blog.
Contact us by sending us an email about your case.

Batavia DUI Defense Attorney

Were you arrested for DUI?

Have you been arrested for driving under the influence? As a Batavia DUI defense lawyer who has helped clients obtain sentence reductions, case dismissals, and favorable plea bargains in their DUI cases, I can tell you that there are many ways to challenge a DUI case and win! However, not just any criminal defense attorney will do, you need someone who devotes a good percentage of their practice defending DUI cases in the Illinois courts!

I have extensive experience handling misdemeanor and felony DUI cases and challenging DUI evidence. You are not just another case number to me, my goal is to help you achieve the best possible outcome. Sometimes it is the smallest detail that makes or breaks a case, and I will work tirelessly to find any errors made by law enforcement or holes in the prosecution's case!

Illinois' DUI Laws

In Illinois, "driving under the influence" means to operate a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol, marijuana, prescription drugs, or other intoxicating compounds. A person can be convicted of DUI if he or she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater, is impaired by medication, or under the influence of any illegal substance.

Penalties for a First Time DUI Offense

A first-time DUI offense is a Class A misdemeanor, while an aggravated DUI is a felony offense.

  • One year minimum driver's license revocation (2 years if under the age of 21)
  • Must complete alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Must complete alcohol/drug education course or substance abuse treatment program
  • Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) may be installed on your vehicle
  • You must carry high-risk auto insurance for 3 years
  • Your vehicle registration will be suspended

The penalties for DUI are harsher if you were under 21 at the time of your arrest, if your BAC was 0.16% or greater, if you were transporting a child under the age of 16, or if you have a previous DUI conviction. These are "aggravating circumstances."

If you had a BAC of 0.16% or greater, you will have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $500 in addition to any other fines, and you will have to complete a mandatory minimum 100 hours of community service.

If you were transporting a child under the age of 16, then in addition to other fines and penalties, you face up to 6 months in prison, a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community service in a program that benefits children.

Arrested? Let me help you fight your charges!

If you have been arrested for your first DUI, or a multiple DUI offense, you can take comfort in the fact that I have taught classes and seminars that certify police officers for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's standardized field sobriety testing.

I know how to investigate DUI cases and look for evidentiary errors, search and seizure violations, and police officer misconduct.

Don't you want an aggressive DUI defense lawyer who will look for such flaws in your DUI case? Contact me, Michael Schulenberg, Attorney at Law for a free case evaluation!

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.

Attorney Web Design